Australia Ensemble subscription concert - Russian Legends: March 11, 8pm

Sir John Clancy Auditorium UNSW

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971): L'histoire du soldat (Soldier’s Tale Suite)(1918)

Sofia Gubaidulina (b 1931): Allegro Rustico (1963) and Sounds of the Forest (1978)

Anton Arensky (1861-1906): Piano Trio no.1 Op.32 (1894)

Elena Kats-Chernin (b 1957): Three Rags (1996)

Alexander Borodin (1833-1887): String Quartet no. 2(1881)

From Stravinsky’s charmingly folkloric Soldier’s Tale Suite through to the depths of Borodin’s profound Second String Quartet, this program explores the richness and diversity of the Russian school of composition while proffering some of its lesser-known voices – Arensky’s Piano Trio is one of the masterworks of the repertoire. Meanwhile contemporary practitioners Sofia Gubaidulina and Elena Kats-Chernin give us new insights into ‘Russian-ness’. Although born in Uzbekistan (in the old Soviet Union) and now a Sydney resident, Elena studied in Moscow. Her Russian Rag is, ironically, one of the most recognisable and famous of Australian compositions!


Single tickets $50/$38/$30/$15 (Adult/Senior/Concession/Student rush)

P: (02) 9385 4874 E: