Australia Ensemble UNSW Subscription Concert: Storm and Tempest

Guest Artist Carla Blackwood
Saturday March 14, 8.00pm
Sir John Clancy Auditorium

Elena KATS-CHERNIN | Velvet Revolution (1999)

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN | String Quintet Op.29 ‘Storm’ (1801)

Franz SCHREKER | Der Wind (1909)

Franz BERWALD | Grand Septet in B flat (1828)


David Griffiths, clarinet; Dene Olding, violin; Dimity Hall, violin; Irina Morozova, viola; Julian Smiles, cello; and Ian Munro, piano

with guest artists Carla Blackwood, horn; Tobias Breider, viola; Lyndon Watts, bassoon; and Andrew Meisel, double bass


Join us for a pre-concert conversation with Elena Kats-Chernin hosted by Paul Stanhope, from 7pm in the foyer of Sir John Clancy Auditorium.


Click the button above or copy and paste into your browser. Book your subscription by calling our box office on 02 9385 4874. 

Tickets: $56 | $43 | $34

“They sicken of the calm who know the storm” (Dorothy Parker). This program explores the tumult of stormy weather, tempestuous emotion, and the promise of new things rising from the ruins of the old. Elena Kats-Chernin channels a revolutionary spirit and the anarchy of shifts of power in Eastern Europe following the fall of the Berlin wall. Franz Schreker’s ‘The Wind’ originally included dancers to enhance the aural depiction of this wild and varied force of nature. Ludwig van Beethoven’s string quintet op.29, nicknamed ‘Storm’, was written as he became aware of his deafness – a curse which caused immense emotional distress and also contributed to some of the greatest music the world has ever seen. Franz Berwald’s Grand Septet in B flat appears friendly, but harmonic twists suggest restrained, unresolved tension.