2020-21 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship

The Australia Ensemble aims to foster greater engagement in and recognition of composition and chamber music activities at UNSW. Support from Emeritus Professor Roger Layton AM (pictured below) and Merrilyn Layton have facilitated a UNSW composition fellowship to be ofered again in 2020, valued at $10,000 for one year, for an Emerging Composer to write chamber music works as part of the Australia Ensemble’s outreach program.

Terms of Fellowship

The Fellowship will have a value of $10,000 for one year to be paid as a stipend and will be awarded in 2020. The fellowship will engage a selected emerging composer to write two works across the course of a 12-month period – inclusive of one piece for a small ensemble and one piece for a large ensemble, as determined by UNSW.

The Emerging Composer will also be eligible for mentoring sessions with a Composition staff member from the UNSW School of the Arts and Media, member/s of the Australia Ensemble, and an external composition mentor. The Emerging Composer’s works will feature in at least one workshop that will be made available to current UNSW students, UNSW staff and members of the public.

How to Apply

The Fellowship will be appointed to a permanent resident or Australian citizen and still in an early career stage (defined as being within the first 7 years of creative practice). Each applicant will be assessed on a submitted portfolio of least three pieces (scores and audio) two of which must be purely instrumental (ie, no voices), one of which must be for chamber ensemble (up to 6 players), and one of which must be from the last three years. Please refer to the Conditions of Entry

1. Complete the Application Form including all Applicant details.

2. Submit a portfolio of works sent with the Application form, including a CV and short biography to:

Australia Ensemble
Music Performance Unit
UNSW Sydney NSW 2052

OR Digital applications should be sent to: australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au

Applications will be accepted between Monday 9 December, 2019 and Sunday 16 February, 2020.

Please note that the Music Performance Unit will be closed from 18 December, 2019 until 7 January, 2020 so no email correspondence will take place.


The recipient of the Fellowship shall be decided upon by a selection panel which will be made up of persons holding the following positions, or persons who in UNSW’s opinion are their successors or hold equivalent positions or their nominee.

  • Artistic Chair of Australia Ensemble, or nominee of the Australia Ensemble
  • Composition staff member from the UNSW School of the Arts and Media
  • Invited external chamber music expert, as appropriate

UNSW may prescribe rules for the conduct of meetings and the making of decisions by the selection panel.

The selection panel may decline to apply money if it considers that there are no candidates who are suitable or of sufficient merit.

Please refer to the Conditions of Entry for complete Selection criteria and process.

  • Submission Deadline: Sunday 16 February, 2020
  • Please ensure you include a completed Application form with your submission
  • Audio submissions may be sent via links to australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au (Dropbox, Soundcloud or similar) or in hard copy


Our congratulations to composer Harry Sdraulig, who was awarded the Australia Ensemble Emerging Composer Fellowship for 2019-20!

Harry Sdraulig was born in Melbourne in 1992, and has studied at the University of Melbourne and University of Sydney. He currently teaches composition at Abbotsleigh as Composer In Residence, and is undertaking his Doctor of Musical Arts at the University of Sydney under the supervision of Paul Stanhope. Harry's works are frequently performed and broadcast across Australia, and have also been heard in Europe, the UK, and the US. He has been commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Q, PLEXUS, Macedon Music, Musica Viva Australia, the Zelman Symphony Orchestra, and Ensemble Three, along with numerous solo and individual commissions. He has also received several awards including the Australian Postgraduate Award, Glen Johnston Composition Award (Audience Prize), Adolph Spivakovsky Award, and the Frank Albert Prize for Music. Harry's music is published by Wirripang Pty Ltd., QPress, and the Australian Music Centre for which he is a represented artist. You can find out more about Harry and his compositions here.