Season 2022: Time is a River



Australia Ensemble UNSW performing Stuart Greenbaum’s Easter Island. Recording provided courtesy of the Australia Broadcasting Corporation.

12 March, 8pm | Time is a River

9 April, 8pm | An Anniversary Bouquet

21 May, 8pm | Cycles

27 August, 8pm | The Roaring Twenties

24 September, 8pm | The Spirit of Youth

22 October, 8pm | Delicioso

The subscription priority booking period has now closed. To purchase a subscription please contact the box office (02) 9385 4874 (Mon-Wed).

Single tickets Adult $56 | Senior $43 | Concession $34

With a sense of renewed hope, the Australia Ensemble UNSW returns to the stage in 2022 in a series of concerts with a sumptuous feast of music, ranging from the very new through to the highest pinnacles of established repertoire. Many of the concerts are themed around cycles of time and nature with the associated themes of regeneration and vitality: true themes for the age!

We feature two master composers, Mozart and Brahms, in two concerts; the former with his glorious String Quintet in E flat and the Piano Trio in B flat, while we look forward to Brahms’ opulent Piano Quartet in C minor and the B flat Clarinet Sonata. Music by Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Schubert finds its rightful place in the season.

Anniversaries abound in 2022 with birthday celebrations for César Franck (200), Claude Debussy (160), Ralph Vaughan Williams (150) and the inventive Greek composer, Iannis Xenakis (100). As a counterbalance to these anniversaries, we celebrate youthful compositions of Rimsky-Korsakov, Schubert, Dohnányi and Australia’s bright young talent, Holly Harrison, whose commissioned work has sadly been delayed twice. Third time lucky!

The inclusion of works by composing women such as Holly but also Jennifer Higdon, Peggy Glanville-Hicks and Amy Beach continues to tell an updated story of musical history through a focus on diversity. We continue the Ensemble’s focus on recent work with the return of Stuart Greenbaum’s environmentally-themed piece, Easter Island, commissioned in 2009; as well as a new piece entitled Speak by a former Greenbaum student, Harry Sdraulig, which has been developed through the Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship. The late Professor Roger Layton’s inspired legacy has been to provide funds for this important professional development opportunity for next-generation composers. We were saddened to hear of Roger’s passing in 2021 but his vision lives on.

To wrap up the year’s musical feast with Martinů’s appropriately culinary-themed La Revue de Cuisine, to be followed by celebratory drinks and chocolate! On behalf of the entire ensemble, we sincerely hope you will join us in the Sir John Clancy Auditorium at UNSW for this season of truly glorious music.

Paul Stanhope
Artistic Chair


Download the full brochure here