2018 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship Winner

Murphy_Nicole sm

Our congratulations to composer Nicole Murphy, who was awarded the Australia Ensemble Emerging Composer Fellowship for 2018!

Nicole Murphy’s music has been described as “exquisite and sensitive” (Sydney Morning Herald), “strong and compelling” (Loudmouth) and “full of exhilarating tension” (Arts Knoxville). She has been commissioned by eminent arts organisations including the Australian Ballet, the Royal Academy of Dance (London), Experiments in Opera/Symphony Space (New York), the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria, Wild Rumpus (San Francisco), Chamber Sounds (Singapore), and the Definiens Project (Los Angeles).

Nicole is the recipient of various awards, including the ICEBERG International Call for Scores (2017), Nief Norf International Call for Scores (2016), the MAFB International Commissioning Prize (2015), the Theodore Front International Orchestral Prize (2013), and the Definiens C3 International Composer’s Award (2011). She was chosen as the young composer to represent Australia at the 30th Asian Composers League Festival in Tel Aviv (2012).

Nicole is the Composer-in-Residence at the Queensland Academy for Creative Industries. She holds a PhD from the University of Queensland (2017), and a Master of Music and Bachelor of Music (Hons I) from the Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University.



Photos below from the Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship 2018 workshop session with Nicole Murphy, composition panel Dr Paul Stanhope and Dr John Peterson, and members of the Australia Ensemble @UNSW Geoffrey Collins, flute; David Griffiths, clarinet; and Ian Munro, piano; with guest artists Airena Nakamura, violin, and Paul Stender, cello

Photography by Keith Saunders 2018